Untitled #27

I fell asleep half way into a dream.
You were there, mumbling something in a secret language
And I
Forgot to lock the door on my way out.
I wanted to make a statement, wanted the hinges to scream.
I wanted to put on my loudest boots and do my best stomping.
Instead I chose my tennis shoes and slipped out.
If you ever noticed the loss, you didn’t let on…
though your eyes dulled & you were always frowning toward the sky
like some invisible God did you a great injustice
just by you being alive.

Love is
a spare key kept in the back of the cupboard,
the sound of creaking floorboards,
Your Eyes & The Way They Look At Me
& nothing else

I fell asleep half way into a dream.
We are stranded in a desert. There is a snake and a tree.
The snake likes me so much it bites me. It wants to keep me forever.
I am buried under the tree & finally, it is not alone

I love you in a way that children’s books know,
with their glossy pages, fresh smell & happy endings.
We only got a middle.
A few paragraphs.
I will re read them to you until the earth collapses in on itself.
When it does
I will remember
Your Eyes & The Way They Look At Me.
& nothing else.

Leave a Reply

